top of page

Tax deadline extension for residents of disaster affected areas in California

On Mar-17-2023 IRS announced that Victims of severe winter storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides in California, now have until Oct-16-2023, to file their individual and business tax returns and make tax payments. Similar announcement has been made by Franchise Tax Board of California.

1. Residents of below counties are covered

If your county of residence is covered in this IRS announcement, you qualify for tax relief (extension).

Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Inyo, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Benito, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Diego, San Francisco, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, and Yolo counties.

2. Extension for filing of return and tax payment

Residents of these counties can file their 2022 federal and CA state tax returns as well as pay 2022 federal and state taxes by Oct-16-2023 without any penalties.

3. Do you need to file an extension?

Extension to file and pay is automatic. That means it is optional to file an extension.

4. More information

Disclaimer: Above articles is for the purpose of reference/information only. Please check and confirm CA FTB and IRS websites to confirm if you are eligible for relief.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page